Southwark Additional & Selective Licensing Consultation - 15 February to 28 June 2021

Monday, February 15, 2021 - Southwark Council

Southwark additional and selective licensing consultation 2021

Date: Monday 15 February to Monday 28 June 2021

About: Southwark Council have launched a consultation on plans to implement new additional and selective property licensing schemes to improve safety, security and quality for people living in private rented homes. With a third of the people living in Southwark now in private rented accommodation, the council wants to hear from as many residents, landlords and business owners as possible, to develop the best new scheme for everyone.

The proposals are summarised below:

Proposed additional licensing scheme

A new five-year licensing scheme would apply to all Houses in Multiple Occupation (HMOs) that are not already licensable under the mandatory HMO licensing scheme. It would include smaller rental properties occupied by three or more unrelated people, forming two or more households who share amenities such as a kitchen or bathroom. The scheme would also include certain converted blocks of flats known as section 257 HMOs.

Proposed selective licensing scheme

A new five-year licensing scheme comprising four separate designations that could be implemented in two phases. This scheme would apply to all private rented properties not already licensable under the mandatory HMO or additional licensing schemes.

Phase 1 comprises two designations covering less than 20% of the borough, designed to tackle issues with anti-social behaviour and poor property conditions.

Phase 1

Designation 1 would apply to Newington and Champion Hill council wards to tackle very high, repeat anti-social behaviour.

Designation 2 would apply to Faraday, Goose Green and St Giles council wards to tackle poor property conditions.

Phase 2

The intention is that the phase 1 (designations 1 & 2) will act as a pilot to assess the effectiveness of the new ward-based approach to selective licensing. After six months, if it is successful, Southwark Council will seek government approval to implement phase 2 (designations 3 & 4).

Designation 3 would apply to North Walworth, Nunhead & Queens Road, Old Kent Road and Peckham council wards to tackle deprivation and poor property conditions.

Designation 4 would apply to Camberwell Green, Chaucer, Dulwich Hill, Dulwich Wood, London Bridge and West, Bermondsey, Peckham Rye, Rotherhithe, Rye Lane, South Bermondsey and Surrey Docks council wards to tackle poor property conditions

Other proposed changes

To coincide with new licensing schemes, Southwark Council is looking to update their mandatory HMO licensing conditions, and the associated licence application. The revised fee to apply for a mandatory HMO licence would be £1,500 plus £100 per room above five bedrooms.

Southwark Council is also consulting on proposals to create a Landlord’s Gold and Platinum Standard Charter. The council say this would recognise landlords who already provide a better service than required by law, encourage other landlords to achieve a higher standard and give tenants a better idea of the standard of accommodation that they should be offered.

Discounted licence application fees would be offered to landlords and managing agents who sign up to the Gold or Platinum Standard Charter.

Once the consultation has ended, responses will be analysed and a report taken to Cabinet setting out recommendations about implementation of either or both licensing schemes and other associated changes.

You can find out more, read the licensing consultation documents and take part in the consultation on the council's website.

Southwark Council are also running workshops and forums to get more information from those in the sector. If you are interested in taking part, please email

Southwark property licensing consultation 2021 Sign up to our London Property Licensing newsletter Gas safe Register advert