New selective licensing scheme underway in Redbridge

Monday, April 8th, 2024 - Redbridge Council

A new selective landlord licensing scheme came into force in the London Borough of Redbridge today (8 April 2024).

The new scheme (designation 4) extends licensing to all private rented properties occupied by a single household or two unrelated sharers in the fifteen council wards of:

  • Aldborough
  • Barkingside
  • Chadwell
  • Churchfields
  • Clementswood
  • Cranbrook
  • Fairlop
  • Goodmayes
  • Hainault
  • Loxford
  • Mayfield
  • Newbury
  • Seven Kings
  • South Woodford
  • Wanstead Village

There was already a selective licensing scheme (designation 3) covering the council wards of Valentines and Ilford Town and all Houses in multiple occupation (HMOs) need to be licensed under the council’s mandatory HMO and additional licensing schemes that extend borough wide.   

Selective licence application process

Landlords and letting agents operating in the selective licensing area must complete an online application on the council’s website. There is a standard fee of £860 per property, with a £35 discount for accredited landlords.

London Property Licensing have published a simple guide to the Redbridge selective licensing scheme here.

Our free guide containing more information about property licensing and HMO planning restrictions in the London Borough of Redbridge is available here.

For all the latest news and events, you can sign up for the free London Property Licensing newsletter here.